Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Remington 30-06 rifles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2013, 03:04 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 23 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default Remington 30-06 rifles

I recently inherited a couple of rifles from my grandfather and I am a gun novice, so I have a few questions.

The rifle's are both Remington 30-06's. One is the model 700. The other is the Woodsmaster 742.

1) Is there a good place to find a PDF version of the 742 manual? I checked the Manual sticky in this forum, but the sites are either gone, don't have the manual, or Chrome gives a malware warning when I access the site. And I'd rather not pay or download additional software to get the manual.

2) I'm not great with gun terms, so please excuse this next sentence. On the 742, the thing (slide, maybe) that you pull back to eject shells sticks and is difficult to pull back. Is this a common issue? If so, is there an easy fix (like oil it up)?

3) I've read that the 742 came in right and left hand models. How do I tell which one I have?

4) On the 700 model, do I need to oil or grease the bolt when I clean the gun?

thanks in advance for the help.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-11-2013, 12:23 PM   #2

Liked 131 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 67