Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   Refinishing the stock of a numbers matching MN M44? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/refinishing-stock-numbers-matching-mn-m44-73520/)

12fretter 10-01-2012 09:37 PM

Refinishing the stock of a numbers matching MN M44?

First, a question: What is meant by "Forced Match" when referring to numbers matching on a Mosin Nagant M44?

Second, all my numbers match. Typically, I'm not a big "value" enthusiast. The gun is a tool. It's a great gun. It's accurate, it's fun and it scares the crap out of people when they don't know it's coming. I didn't care about its value when it was given to me. But, on the other hand, I don't want to discount the possibility of a future heirloom.

All that said, the stock looks like crap. I'm a woodworker and I know how to finish wood. I'm seriously thinking of stripping this down and refinishing it. If this were a Martin Guitar, I would know just what to do based on the age and model number. But I don't know about rifles as I do with Martin guitars.

I'm thinking it's no big deal. So what if I ruin the value of it, especially when the value is probably just a couple hundred dollars.

Opinions?

therewolf 10-01-2012 11:03 PM

In mint condition, never fired, it's worth @250$.

But the prices, they are a rising...

"Force Matched" refers to serial numbers which

were re-stamped, or electro-penciled on.

Force matching is usually done to help keep a set group

of parts together on a partially matching rifle.

If your Bolt, Barrel, Buttplate, and Magazine match, it's

matched serials, on a M44.

Be wary of any work on original parts. Most folks want the

rifle in original condition.

So if you intend to keep it permanently, change it as you please,

but NEVER assume any change, no matter how nice, will

please others, in the event of resale...