recomendations/advice needed.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > recomendations/advice needed.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2010, 04:01 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default recomendations/advice needed.

hey all,
im new to the sport of shooting, only just recently acquired my gun licence (australia), and am looking to buy my first rifle.
ive been doing a bit of research about the pro's and con's for various calibers.
im mainly going to use this gun at the range, however, when i get better at shooting, i would also like to go hunting.
ive decided i want either .22-250, .223, or .243. ive chosen these calibers because i want to learn how to properly hold and shoot a rifle without having to take into consideration massive recoil of a .308 or .30-06 (which i first wanted) for a begginer.
what do you guys think is the best all round cartridge? ballistic wise, and hunting wise?

Nik.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-03-2010, 06:40 AM   #2

Liked 40 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Welcome to the forum from another Aussie Nik, where are you from?

The .223 will probably be your best bet on availability and economy of ammo, and when shot out of a decent rifle will almost always out-shoot a beginner anyway. Once you step up in calibre past the .223 the price of ammunition seems to rise exponentially at the same time!