Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   is it possible to convert an ar 15 rifle to an ar pistol (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/possible-convert-ar-15-rifle-ar-pistol-48522/)

bushyspikemaster 09-20-2011 02:59 PM

is it possible to convert an ar 15 rifle to an ar pistol

ok i just bought an ar 15 and i was just wondering if i can change it to a pistol by changing the upper i am new to the m4 world so i dont know that why i am asking ?:)

Firearms4ever 09-20-2011 03:03 PM

Well if you did change out the upper to lets say anything shorter than a 16 inch barrel you would have a SBR and have to pay a $200 fee to own it.

This is because unless you specifically purchase an AR15 pistol version then it is considered a rifle.

bushyspikemaster 09-20-2011 03:10 PM

so all i have to do is pay $200 and its good what do have to do to the gun to make the change?:)

Firearms4ever 09-20-2011 03:26 PM

I'm not 100% sure if you have to pay a tax on it or not. I'm looking at the ATF's website and I'll get back to you shortly.

JonM 09-20-2011 03:40 PM

If it has a stock and a barrel shorter than 16" then its a shirtbarrel rifle subject to nfa registration and 200$ tax stamp. You must do the paper work and recieve the tax stamp in hand before purchasing the new short barrel. The reciever has to be engraved with your information as a short barrel rifle.

There isnt much point to converting to a pistol as once registered as such you may not put a rifle stock on it. Only a sbr can swap between short and long barrel.

If you choose for some wierd reason to convert it through the batfe to a pistol its a pistol for good.

Pistol lowers are cheap and much less than the cost of the paperwork and effort to convert from rifle to pistol.

Still cant put a stock on a pistol with a barrel length less than 16".