Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > One step up

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 08:18 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 344 Times on 220 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Know I just started shooting, but even before I have my FAC/PAL I've always been looking into getting an AR platform. The reason behind this is I'll admit, partly due to the cool factor. But it's also the fact that from what I've heard, the .223 doesn't have a whole wack load of kick to it and being a new shooter, the seems like a good center fire starter. Before anyone asks why I don't just save up and buy an AR/AR type rifle, I'm not exactly one to want to wait longer then needed to buy something to enjoy. Also living in Canada they have all kinds of restriction on any rifle that's on an AR platform. One of which is that you have to be on a proper range to be legally allowed to discharge it and have to fill out paper work each and every time the dang thing leaves your house regardless of where it goes and if I understood properly, have to pay a certain amount each time or per year. So that's out of the question for me.

Just have a couple of quick question, none are really gun related, more ammunition related really.

First one is, how much more kick does a .223 have vs a 7mm Rem mag? (only centerfire rifle I've shot)

What's the farthest shot you've made with that caliber?

What a good budget gun in this caliber? (let's say about 4-500 if possible, also have a preference for bolt action)

And would you guys suggest a different caliber to start out with?

Reason I'm asking is that I'm pretty new to shooting but have shot some harder hitters then a .22LR and looking to go a little bit bigger. Also looking for something that won't totally slaughter the wallet of a student with a part time job.

Last edited by kaido; 01-07-2012 at 08:35 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!