Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Newbie Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2012, 08:41 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Newbie Question

I'm sorry to be so elementary, but I am new to guns. I am looking to buy my first rifle and know NOTHING about them. Is there a resource that explains the difference in bolt action, semi auto, etc? I hate to burden the forums with a bunch of beginners questions so if someone could point me in the right direction, that would be great. Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-28-2012, 09:09 PM   #2

Liked 207 Times on 166 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Try to run some googles first or you tubes about how a bolt action works ,semi-auto, single shot , pump action and so forth.

Are you wanting a basic .22lr to start with or centerfire?
Are you planeing on hunting? tree rats or deer?
A bit more info needed with a better idea of what you paln to do.

Old 02-28-2012, 09:09 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1059 Times on 684 Posts
Likes Given: 1962

Just google the various types of guns and read all you can. You can also use the search feature on this forum and read past threads. A good search might be "first gun"? Also keep in mind that we all had to learn this stuff at some point so never be embarrassed to ask questions.

Old 02-28-2012, 09:15 PM   #4

Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmh737