Newbie here, need help with takedown rifle - Page 3
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Newbie here, need help with takedown rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 05:29 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper03 View Post
Chrstian,

Unless I missed something, the last thing I would want to rely completely on especially for self protection would be a 22 Cal anything. When the SHTF people are going to be desperate and attempt to take that which belongs to others that the want. More than likely the biggest task will be defending your family, food and property at home. You better consider having some fire power. Keeping in mind they also may have weapons equal or better than yours! I would recommend an AR Rifle at least! A 22 pistol would be a good choice, or 22 rifle for small game. But a shotgun would probably be better since it could serve as a meat getter for food from rabbits, quail with 6 Shot, to deer or whatever. It is also one tremendous weapon for self defense and close in protection with # 4 Buck, 00 Buck or Slugs. You wouldn't want to be carrying around more than one weapon at a time anyway. If you were caught out from the house with only a 22 and they come along with almost anything else, grab your ankles and KYA goodbye. Also selection of the caliber or gauge of ammunition is very important. You mentioned 17 HMR and etc. Not a real good choice if you should ever run out of ammunition, because it probably would not be easy to come by in those times. 22, 223/5.56, 12 ga would be. And of course if you acquired the aggressors weapons during this time I am sure there will be some ARs and Shotguns you could use the parts, ammunition or reclaim the weapons.
Just some thoughts!