Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Newbie.. help me choose a rifle!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 01:16 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Newbie.. help me choose a rifle!

Hey guys;

I'm fairly new to rifles and am looking to purchase one of my own. I need help getting in the right direction. Here's what I'm looking for:

-I have about $700 to spend.
-I want it in .308. I will also consider 30-30 and 30-06. I will be using it for hunting and medium range target shooting.
-Glass is taken care of already so take that out of the price
-Call me crazy but I prefer synthetics and polymers to wooden stocks
-I want pretty decent accuracy at around 300 yards, if possible.
-I have been looking at some Remington 700s, such as the SPS. It's priced great but I want to be sure that I'm getting a good rifle.
-I've also looked at the Howa Axiom in .308, and the Savage 10FP.

I'm not too worried about length, portability, etc. so I prefer a barrel length/overall size that will give me the best results. Basically I want a decently-priced rifle that is accurate and reliable.

I apologize in advance if this request is far-fetched, against the forum rules, etc. Thanks for any help or replies!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-03-2011, 01:30 PM   #2

Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Welcome aboard, JT! When you get a moment please swing through our introductions thread and tell us about yourself.