Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   Newbe Q: Savage Arms 12ABT in .308 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/newbe-q-savage-arms-12abt-308-a-5629/)

Army11B S5 07-16-2008 02:54 PM

Newbe Q: Savage Arms 12ABT in .308

Savage Arms 12ABT varm. rifle in a .308-good/or no good? Is there a better rifle for the price?

Army11B S5 07-16-2008 02:57 PM

So I realize I am totally new to the civi world and have no real knowledge of civi made rifles. I would like to get into matchs and comp., but obviously that is a ways away. I need to learn to make my own rounds upgrade..bla bla
For Now... I would like to get some input on some of you experianced people on which direction to go. Thanks and I look forward to your comments

Dillinger 07-16-2008 03:24 PM

Well, personally, I don't know of any competition shooter that is fielding a Savage action out of our shop. We turn out several in hunting rifles, but I haven't even seen this outlandish stock contraption you reference above. That is quite, eh, "flashy" to say the least.

It would appear you have military experience, so what have you been exposed to? Do you have Sharpshooter/Sniper background training, or basic Rifleman? What is your criteria for the rifle you would like to purchase? Do you have budgetary concerns? It would appear you want a .308 boltgun, but what beyond that are you looking for?

JD

Army11B S5 07-16-2008 03:44 PM

A: yes i have my S5 identifier.