Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > New to the rifle world. Can anyone answere a question for me.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 04:02 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 13 Times on 10 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitestalker
All Ruger rifles and handguns use the investment casting process. What is the problem with investment casting? How many action screws are needed to regulate a turn bolt action?
How many screws does the 98 Mauser father of most modern turn bolts have?
Mausers have 2 action screws and they don't have one that is at an angle either. Mausers have held national bench rest records and rugers have not. And by the way, tell me how awesome a Ruger m77 trigger is. I have a degree in Gunsmithing, have worked for custom shops and on my own, I will not own a Ruger m77. Too many better alternative that are exponentially more accurate out there, even the new junk rem700s.

Old 02-20-2013, 04:59 PM   #22

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

If you do not have your heart set on a Remington, I would consider other rifle brands such as Savage (11/111), Tikka (T3), and Weatherby (Vanguard S2). The past few years Remington's QC has dropped and they have been shipping some lemons.

If you do have your heart set on a Remington, I recommend you buy a used 700 manufactured before The Freedom Group bought Big Green. You will get better quality and save money.

Old 02-20-2013, 06:01 PM   #23

Liked 27 Times on 23 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick1967 View Post
I have a 770 in 30-06. I bought it becuase I needed an elk rifle. I was in a hurry and didnt have a bunch of money. I understand that the 700 is a better built rifle. My 770 is a super acurate rifle. I can shoot 1" groups at 200 yards. That is 1/2 moa.
Nobody said the 770 wasn't accurate, although yours sounds exceptional.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick1967 View Post