Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > New to hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 02:30 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New to hunting

Hi,

I am a long time shooting enthusiast, but have never hunted before. My brother and I, (he has never hunted before either), have seriously considered taking hunting up. I am a chef and want to get a little closer to my food.

Most of my shooting thus far has been shotguns and pistols. I wanted some opinions on the 3 guns I am still considering.

1. Compact Remington 700 in .308
2. Micro Midas X-Bolt in .308
3. Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle in .308

All three feature about a 13 inch pull. At 5'2", a short pull is absolutely needed.

It's the 21st century. We women have traded our burqas in for big guns, fast cars and high heels.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-10-2013, 02:42 PM   #2

Liked 44 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 70

It would depend on what you are planning to hunt. Some states have a hunter safety course and I recommend any new hunter take the course to further their knowledge of game preparation and hunting safety.

Join The NRA And Protect Our Rights

Old 11-10-2013, 08:57 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1075 Times on 695 Posts
Likes Given: 2012

You might want to consider a 7mm-08 rather than .308? Given your size and the rifles you are considering the 7mm-08 would be much more fun to shoot.