New guy question
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > New guy question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2011, 10:02 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New guy question

Hi everyone. First off let me say that I'm totally new to the gun world so please excuse me if I say something wrong I'm learning alot about this stuff and in a pretty fast time but I love it all ready.
My first question is that on a whim I bought a DPMS AR Sporticle(I think its called) its chambered in the 7.62x39. What is this gun called exactly? I have been told its an ARAK, AR47
Second question when I bought the gun I was told to get the cheap ammo they had because it doesn't matter what you shoot in this caliber, it is the Yugo FMJ copper jacket. The problem is that it jams up all the time, it fires and then you have to re cock it etc. When I shoot the Remington brand I got at Bass Pro Shop it fires with no problems at all but its much more expensive. I assume that the cheap stuff is to dirty or corrosive or something. Can anyone tell me what this problem might be and what I should look for in buying ammo. I love the gun and is awesomely accurate so I hope its not the gun and just the ammo. Also since I'm new to this is this gun a good one to keep around or is it just an odd one to have and should get an AK in order to shoot this caliber of round? All I know is that the AR is more accurate and thats why I bought it instead. Is that true? Thanks everyone for reading this short book and helping me out.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.