Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > New Addition 1903A3

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 04:13 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM View Post
hehehe. looks like the stock is a non military copy. but im not expert enough to really tell.
Hard to tell from the pics, but it looks good. Why do you think it is not orig?

SAF-Life
PEIAPOI

"Obama has ordered the launching of more Tomahawk cruise missiles than All the other Nobel Peace Prize winners combined."

Old 02-05-2011, 05:06 AM   #12
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 4469 Times on 2357 Posts
Likes Given: 255

Quote:
Originally Posted by M14sRock View Post
well im still learning about the 03a3 and most samples i have seen have some sort of proof stamping in the wood. it is certainly older as it has some hand-oil staining in the right spots. the stock also has correct oil staining around the edge of the chamber area which only comes from many years of cleaning and lubricating oils. the barrel is a 10-43 reciever is a 1942 according to the serial number. it MIGHT be original as remington was cranking out recievers faster than barrels.

the barrel had several decades of just plain dirt but cleaned out well. actual chunks of grime and dirt fell out as the swab went down the bore. my bore light is broke and i gotta get a new one tomorrw, but the bore looks good. it gauged between 1 and 2 closer to one. so im happy.

gonna buy a spare barrel at some point to have one handy.

i dont care THAT much as its in decent shape and has not been re-arsenaled and has almost all remington parts and the proper mix of blued parts and parkerized parts.