need help selecting optics for new Remington 700 VTR
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > need help selecting optics for new Remington 700 VTR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2010, 03:44 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default need help selecting optics for new Remington 700 VTR

I just picked up a Remington 700 VTR in .308 in a private sale and now am stumped on which scope mounts, rings, and optics to go with it. I have heard you get what you pay for, but I am wondering where to spend the money and where I can actually save a few pennies here and there. I must admit I am new to bolt action and scopes so any ideas would be helpful. I have heard mixed reviews about the rifle, but I would like it to hit as close to 1 MOA at 100 yards, and if the SHTF scenario did occur be able to ID something as friend or foe at the same range (drive way is 1/10 a mile long).

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-16-2010, 04:20 AM   #2

Liked 33 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 45

This scope flat out rocks and is comparable to those costing more than twice as much. Schott Glass is the same as used by Zeiss, Schmidt Bender, Kahles, Swarovski, Hensoldt and other world class optics makers. 2.5-10 x 42 30mm Tactical First Focal Plane, MP-8 Dot Illuminated Reticule

These bases are excellent and much cheaper than their contemporaries. BROWNELLS : PICATINNY SCOPE BASE - World's Largest Supplier of Firearm Accessories, Gun Parts and Gunsmithing Tools