Mosin Nagant m91/30

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Mosin Nagant m91/30

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2010, 10:46 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 1

Default Mosin Nagant m91/30

I have a question. I'm pretty new to working on and modifying my weapons and I would like to know how to increase the accuracy of my m91/30 mosin, while still keeping it iron sighs. Any comments and information would be appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-12-2010, 01:26 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 9572 Times on 4118 Posts
Likes Given: 1502

ASSUMING that you have a good bore, there are a couple of things to look at.
Start with the crown of the muzzle, and the last inch of the muzzle. If the crown has been dinged, dented, or molested, it can have a disproportionate effect on accuracy. Cure is to recrown. This can be done by a smith- or minor dings can be done by you with a round headed brass bolt, a drill, and some lapping compound. The last inch of the bore is sometimes found with very worn rifling- from cleaning rod abuse. A THOROUGH cleaning with a good solvent may help get you some depth back with the rifling (crud sitting in the bottom of the grooves) but for severe wear, it is either counterbore the muzzle (see gunsmith) or rebarrel.

The sights could be better- and further apart. That may not be something you want to fix if you want to keep original configuration.