Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Mosin Nagant

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2012, 03:26 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Mosin Nagant

Hey guys I recently purchased a 91/30 Mosin Nagant and you obviously get what you pay for with jamming, sticky bolt etc. but I also noticed that at 100 yrds the rifle seems "inaccurate" and by that I mean the majority of the shots miss their target. I'm fairly new to firearms yet am not a terrible shot (not that you have to be amazing at 100 yrds) and was wondering how to go about adjusting/possibly realigning my sights. Any suggestions?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-31-2012, 03:41 AM   #2

Liked 1949 Times on 1028 Posts
Likes Given: 4282

The front sight is movable, you can use a punch to drift it over one way or the other, the rear sight is what it is. IIRC, they are sighted to shoot high (6,8, inches I think) at 100 yds.

Bulk ammo is not as accurate as new factory loads...still more accurate than I am...

Check the crown of the muzzle, has it been counterbored? How does the rifling look?

Get the cosmoline cleaned out real good, that can cause problems too.

When you get a minute, stop by the intro thread and say hey...

Welcome to FTF!

Proud Supporter of USA Shooting

Old 05-31-2012, 04:03 AM   #3

Liked 1415 Times on 816 Posts
Likes Given: 989