maybe a stupid question but i'm still pretty new to guns
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > maybe a stupid question but i'm still pretty new to guns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2009, 11:34 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default maybe a stupid question but i'm still pretty new to guns

i haven't taken my new 30-06 (used but new to me) out to the range and the end of the barrel looks pretty narrow and it doesn't look like the 30-06 bullet fits through there i help the tip of the bullet to the tip of the barrel and it doesn't look like it would match up? is this supposed to be like this? does the bullet shrink when it gets fired or is my rifle messed up? it kinda makes me scared to shoot it

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-29-2009, 11:44 PM   #2

Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith84 View Post
i haven't taken my new 30-06 (used but new to me) out to the range and the end of the barrel looks pretty narrow and it doesn't look like the 30-06 bullet fits through there i help the tip of the bullet to the tip of the barrel and it doesn't look like it would match up? is this supposed to be like this? does the bullet shrink when it gets fired or is my rifle messed up? it kinda makes me scared to shoot it
Bullet diameters are larger than bore diameters. The bullet needs to ride the rifling of the barrel. You are sure it is a .30-06? Says so on the barrel? If so, you should be good to go.

And, no, bullets don't shrink, they actually expand.

From C3Shooter: