Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   maybe a stupid question but i'm still pretty new to guns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/maybe-stupid-question-but-im-still-pretty-new-guns-17496/)

dsmith84 08-30-2009 12:34 AM

maybe a stupid question but i'm still pretty new to guns

i haven't taken my new 30-06 (used but new to me) out to the range and the end of the barrel looks pretty narrow and it doesn't look like the 30-06 bullet fits through there i help the tip of the bullet to the tip of the barrel and it doesn't look like it would match up? is this supposed to be like this? does the bullet shrink when it gets fired or is my rifle messed up? it kinda makes me scared to shoot it

skullcrusher 08-30-2009 12:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsmith84 (Post 152841)
i haven't taken my new 30-06 (used but new to me) out to the range and the end of the barrel looks pretty narrow and it doesn't look like the 30-06 bullet fits through there i help the tip of the bullet to the tip of the barrel and it doesn't look like it would match up? is this supposed to be like this? does the bullet shrink when it gets fired or is my rifle messed up? it kinda makes me scared to shoot it

Bullet diameters are larger than bore diameters. The bullet needs to ride the rifling of the barrel. You are sure it is a .30-06? Says so on the barrel? If so, you should be good to go.

And, no, bullets don't shrink, they actually expand. :eek:

dsmith84 08-30-2009 12:55 AM

yeah i'm sure its a 30-06 it says it on the rifle. so the bullet still exits it being larger? its safe to fire?

stalkingbear 08-30-2009 01:09 AM