M855 Green Tip Ammo
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion >

M855 Green Tip Ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2015, 03:05 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 21 Times on 14 Posts

Default M855 Green Tip Ammo

Many users of 5.56 x 45 ammo are craving the M855 Green Tip, thinking it is a step closer to the ultimate. I've done some reading and head scratching on this. I have some first person experience -former Marine, one year in Vietnam. The wounds we inflicted on our adversaries were often gruesome. I grew up hunting and shooting and knew there was something almost mystical about the black Colt and its tiny round. I soon learned about "YAW", or tumble in layman terms. It's short- coming was range.
New war in the middle east dictated a need for more range. M855 is developed with a non lead bullet and the range and accuracy needed to neutralize combatants with AK-47's taking pot shots. Problem solved. Hold on though. It's doesn't yaw (tumble) as readily. "We're making hits on the insurgents - sometime multiple hits without quick kills". They are dead, just not dead yet.
That's what you're getting with the M855. It does have a the ability to penetrate steel and concrete - and body armor! Yuk says Obama. Can't have it!
But, is that what you want when you hear that "bump -bang or crash at 2:00 am? The kids are asleep two sheet rock walls over and you grab your M4 with M855 ammo? I hope you know better. Your neighbors hope you know better. It has its place, but not in this situation.
Remember what I said about "YAW". You don't need 600 -800 yard shots standing in the middle of your house. You don't need barrier penetration. You need terminal effects - tumble and fragmentation. That's what we had in Vietnam. It did its magic so well I wondered how the Geneva convention rules of war allowed it.