Long range shooting - Page 4
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion >

Long range shooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 01:09 PM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 137 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I'm a young'in compared to some of you guys. just a hair over 30. I know Hathcock.

anyway...I'm looking at picking up my first long range rifle, bolt action .308 I don't plan on shooting animals, at least for awhile. I do think it would be fun to shoot a grapefruit at 400 yards, with a go-pro camera about 5' away from the fruit. Watch it explode and then hear the shot 2/3 of a second later!

As I'm studying ballistics charts for different rounds, it's shocking to see just how much a bullet starts to drop at 400-600 yards.

I know that gravity is an acceleration, and the longer it acts on an object, the faster it's vertical velocity gets. Makes me wonder how anyone can make a 1000 yard shot when the bullet is dropping hundreds of inches.

apparently I've got a LOT of studying and math to do, even as I'm learning to shoot 400 yards. I don't have any place currently where I can go take longer shots.
axxe55 Likes This 
Old 02-03-2013, 01:58 PM   #32

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70cuda383

As I'm studying ballistics charts for different rounds, it's shocking to see just how much a bullet starts to drop at 400-600 yards.

I know that gravity is an acceleration, and the longer it acts on an object, the faster it's vertical velocity gets. Makes me wonder how anyone can make a 1000 yard shot when the bullet is dropping hundreds of inches.

apparently I've got a LOT of studying and math to do, even as I'm learning to shoot 400 yards. I don't have any place currently where I can go take longer shots.
Drop is simple if you reload consistent ammo, windage is my challenge.