Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Long range set up for beginner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 01:29 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 29 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default Long range set up for beginner

Wondering if anyone with long range shooting experience, 600-1000 yards will be able to answer a few questions for me. I am interested in buying a rifle, specifically for the bench that will reach out accurately to 600-1000 yards. I am looking first at what caliber should I be looking at? .223, .243, .308 will all of these be suitable or is 1 preferred over another?

Next I am looking at barrel legnth, should I stick with a 26" bull or will a 24" bull work as well?

I will preface this by stating that I have no bench experience for this type of shooting, so my theory is start at 100 yards and become proficient in that range, then move to 200 and so on.

What I am hoping to do is purchase a nice rifle from the start that I can grow into without having to spend big money at a smith to tweak my purchase. I have set my budget roughly in the $1500 range but will extend it to 2k if need be.

Thanks for your time

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-10-2011, 02:37 AM   #2

Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I have ZERO experience with LR shooting but I have interest in it and have asked some questions about this before. My best advice to you is to read the opinions posted here before.