Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   Interested in long range (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/interested-long-range-63176/)

2hot2handle 04-24-2012 12:59 PM

Interested in long range

I've been browsing around this section and have quite a few questions.

I'm a new shooter, I shoot guns but I wouldn't call myself a marksman by any stretch of the imagination. I really like the thought of long range marksmanship and the challenges that come with it.

First: Eventually I would love to get out past 700 yards or so just for kicks and giggles. I know that I must first really learn to shoot though. I have no idea about the basics when it comes to true accuracy, everything I know is self taught and from the internet (an excellent source i know ). Where is a good place/books/videos to learn the basics of marksmanship and the terminology associated with it? I'm talking about DOPE etc.

Second: Obviously I will need a rifle. Unfortunately I am a piss poor person. I am young (19) and only have a part time job right now (looking for more work) . So at what point is it even worth "getting into the game" if you know what I mean? I realize that there is no ceiling on what you can spend, what I am looking for is the basement. I am not worried about having the coolest gun out there because the coolest latest technology will not help with breathing, trigger pull, the reading of the wind etc. I've seen people with the best of the best gear be the worst of the worst performers because they are trying to buy skill.