Hunting Calibers - Page 4
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Hunting Calibers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 04:04 AM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by VazDaGoon View Post
So I'm new to hunting and I have a very important question. I plan on buying two rifles, one for big game and one for small game. My question is what calibers would be suitable for both rifles. I'm leaning toward a .308 or 30.06 for big game like deer and elk but I'm not sure what caliber rifle I should use for turkey, coyotes, boars, etc... I apologize ahead of time for my ignorance. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Any 6.5mm! Here are 3 of my favorites: 260 Remington, 6.5 Creedmoor and a 6.5 X 284 Norma! I've seen elk killed at 1000 yards with the Norma and every single 1 of those Caliber's kick less than a 308 and will completely out perform both the 308 and 30-06! The 65 Creedmoor and the 260 Remington are pretty much exactly the same performance but the 6.5 X 284 Norma will beat them by a couple hundred feet per second. In my opinion the optimum trajectory is a bullet that has a ballistic coefficient of around .6 and can go at least 2900 feet per second. This gives you great performance without being too much of a barrel burner... unfortunately a 30 cal isn't capable of pushing a high ballistic coefficient like that until you burn 70 + grains of powder and the smallest thing that does that is a 300 Win Mag which is definitely overkill for even pronghorn let alone a turkey or other small game! With a 6.5mm/264 caliber You would be able to shoot bullets as heavy as 160 grains and as light as 85 gr!

Old 03-27-2013, 10:30 PM   #32

Liked 46 Times on 28 Posts