Gun for a New-ish person
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Gun for a New-ish person

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2013, 04:56 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default Gun for a New-ish person

Hello, I am looking into buying a good target/varmint rifle (coyotes). I am kind of new to guns. I am familiar with my dads 10-22 and his Remington 870, I have been hunting a couple of times with them. I am looking for a caliber that is reasonably cheap. I will not be reloading. 223 rem seems to be a good bet but I was wondering if there was a better option for me. I also need help on what rifle to choose. Should I go cheap (savage axis, stevens 200)? or should I put a little money out (howa 1500, Mossberg mvp).

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-07-2013, 04:59 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 3860 Times on 2304 Posts
Likes Given: 3233

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/german-stamped-cz-550-synthetic-308-a-93099/

Old 08-07-2013, 05:52 PM   #3

If you want a brand new rifle, I would suggest that you get a .243 in the Marlin XS7. They are very nice looking, light weight, and very strong. I know a guy who accidentally chambered a .300 Savage round in a .25-06 Marlin XL7 (the longer action version) and fired it. Other than the extractor and ejector on the bolt, nothing was damaged. A gunsmith checked everything out and nothing else was damaged.