Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   Glueing on Rifle Sights? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/glueing-rifle-sights-90762/)

matt91152 05-16-2013 01:07 AM

Glueing on Rifle Sights?

So I know it sounds like a bad thing to do, but I'm curious. I am a Student Gunsmith and i have been thinking about different ways to attach sights. I prefer using silver solder but I am wondering if there is a glue or epoxy that would be suitable. I know front sights are glued onto shotguns sometimes with Black Max, but could it hold up on a rifle? I have a sporterized 1917 Enfield in 30/06 that I like to use for experimenting. So does anyone have any input or suggestions?

cottontop 05-16-2013 02:49 AM

Red Green uses duct tape. Why don't you try that?
ct

Rick1967 05-16-2013 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cottontop (Post 1248288)
Red Green uses duct tape. Why don't you try that?
ct

Oh, now that was helpful.

But seriously, I am interested in what other might offer for advise.

JonM 05-16-2013 03:23 AM

you would have to have something that isnt heat sensitive. heat breaks down most glues and epoxies that are readily available. then you have the chemical problem when you start cleaning with solvents.

there is a reason sights are attached via dovetail type cuts or screwed in or are part of a barrel band or sight base assembly

gunnut07 05-16-2013 10:39 AM

The problem is over time it will break down. Then you add recoil to the mix and if you glue sights on a gun they will come off. Rear sights should be held on my screws and front sights should be held on with silver solder.

c3shooter 05-16-2013 11:45 AM