Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > First-time Buyer, looking for advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 06:14 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default First-time Buyer, looking for advice

Hey Everyone,

Not only am I new to these forums, I am also new to the world of guns. Two of my best friends are avid hunters, and I've tagged along with them on trips a few times and quite enjoyed myself. Long story short, I've decided to pick up a rifle, and begin practicing so that I may partake in these trips in the future!

I'm seeking advice on the following:

A solid, all around rifle that does not exceed $1500 and a scope that does not exceed $1000. Meaning I have a max budget of about $2500 and don't really believe its necessary to start with a rifle exceeding the $1500 mark.

Through research I have discovered that I will most likely decide on a .300 or .308 WIN calibre rifle as the flight paths seem the "flattest" and ammo is most accessible where I live - this however is not set in stone. Remington is a name that I am most familiar with, but I am seeking advice on other alternatives as well as particular Remington models within the 700 series that might be suitable for a rifle! I am also quite fond of the Zeiss Conquest HD5 scope (3-15X42 model).

What uses will this rifle serve:

My friends hunt in both forest and open plain settings, and target game as large as moose and black bear. I also live 5 minutes from an 800 yard range, and would like to purchase a combo that I could hunt with (generally up to about 200 yards from what I've seen) but also thoroughly enjoy at the range without worrying about too much heat in the barrel - I've read fluted barrels dissipate heat faster, but am not sure if this is really such a large issue for most rifles in the first place.

Anyways, any help on the topic is much appreciated, and I thank-you all in advance for your input!