First Purchase choice help!
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > First Purchase choice help!

View Poll Results: Which One?
Ruger Mini 14 2 33.33%
Ruger m77 Gunsite 0 0%
Smith and Wesson M&P 15 1 16.67%
Savage 10fp-sr 1 16.67%
M1 Garand 0 0%
Mosin Nagant 91/30 2 33.33%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2011, 12:52 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default First Purchase choice help!

Like the title says, I'm looking to purchase my first firearm (awww, look at the newb) I'm new to the market, but definitely not new to shooting. However I do realize there is a difference between shooting a gun and owning one, maintaining it and paying for ammo and whatnot, hence the post. I've compiled a list of shooters that seem to fit the bill, the trouble is which one. My budget for the rifle itself is $800 with some wiggle room, and around $200 for extras like mags or optics. I will most likely buy used. The idea of this rifle isn't necessarily a "do-it-all" but not a niche gun either. It would see most daylight out at the range for now, but I still want a somewhat rugged gun for the outdoors. I probably wouldn't be shooting past 500 yds even with a more accurate rifle, but my range will obviously be determined by the weapon and cartridge, as well as what direction I take the rifle in. So here's the list and my line of thinking for each, in no particular order.

-Ruger Mini 14:
Reliable, rugged, easy. .223 is easy to get, and ballistics are enough to accomplish what I want. I dig the sights too.

-Ruger Gunsite: