Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > First Gun Purchase

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 01:38 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default First Gun Purchase

I am new to the gun purchasing game and want to join my friends by owning a rifle that is flexible for both deer(mostly) and rabbit/varmints (.243 or 270 win?). I can spend up to $850-900 and I also want to make sure I am buying a rifle that will hold a fair amount of its value. Of all the manufacturers and their models:
Beretta Tikka T3
T/C Icon or Venture
Remm 700
Ruger M77
Browning X-bolt
Win Model 70
Any others(?)
I understand that many of these guns will serve me well and it is more the shooter than his weapon, but my question is which of these would represent a quality/reliable rifle and a good investment?
and if any, is there anything that is a ripoff and should be avoided?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-13-2011, 03:07 AM   #2

I think all of those you mentioned are good quality rifles... I personally like Remington (always have) I own 3 diff. Remington mod 700 and never had problems with them I love that action!

A man who is good enough to shed his blood for the country is good enough to be given a square deal afterwards.
-Theodore Roosevelt

Old 12-13-2011, 03:11 AM   #3

The Remington 700 is an amazing gun that you can buy and build up as you go.

Come and Take 'em

Old 12-13-2011, 03:15 AM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 247 Times on 151 Posts
Likes Given: 55