Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Which Factory Rifle Action is "Best"?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 01:58 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts

DILLENGER you sure do know how to stir the pot. To tell people that dont want to know, some of the shortcomings of their favorite guns is either real brave or real ??? I am a student of firearm design as well, and like any real student knows the "IN DEPTH" problems with the 700 design. A few point to add, the trigger group is a terrible design for hunting. It is an enclosed design that can trap moisture or debris. I have had one freeze up twice and a friend once. All freeze up cost us game. As to the 700's bottom metal being aliminum I dont think so. I believe it to be potmetal. I have seen more than one that has broken when dropped. Aliminum bents it doesnt break. The older Winchesters had milled steel bottom metal though the newer ones have varying materials in them. I agree that the "washer" type recoil lug is the cheapest solution they could come up with. Why the round bottomed washer lugged 700 shoots so well is a puzzle to me. I would rather have a model 70 or 98 mauser that is only capable of 2" accuracy to a rifle capable of 1/2" groups built of plastic, stamped tin and potmetal castings. As far as the military choosing the 700 for a sniper rifle should read the actual findings. In Vietnam when the military determined they needed a sniper rifle they went to Winchester to built one. Winchester refussed, Remington offered. The military refused Remington and again asked Winchester who again turned the down. So with no other options the Remington was grudgingly accepted. After 2 years over half of the 700's were inoperable. You need to remember that the sniper fires very few rounds. Anyhow these are just a few points that should draw some fire away from you.

Old 09-16-2010, 09:16 PM   #22

Liked 23 Times on 19 Posts