You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion >

British .303 scope?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 10:54 PM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TLuker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S.C.
Posts: 3,912
Liked 2338 Times on 1476 Posts
Likes Given: 5768

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssbs View Post
Thanks. I don't know a whole lot about guns but it does appear to be a fixed magazine. I don't have any ammunition yet but it looks like it can hold about 3 rounds... Loaded from the top
When I looked at the first pictures you posted I just assumed the magazine was not in the rifle because the magazine hanging down is just part of the profile of a .303. I now understand what you're saying and that picture you posted of the bottom of the rifle helped clarify what's going on there. It appears someone cut the bottom of a magazine out and sealed off the opening in the stock with it. They also removed the magazine release latch. There should be a detachable 10 round magazine in that rifle similar to the others pictured.

In the future you might want to check and see how much it would cost to get a replacement magazine and the release latch put back in. It isn't necessary but it would be convenient to have.

As for loading from the top as is with a scope mounted on the rifle, that shouldn't be a problem. I just loaded one in mine to see and I had no issues. My mount is similar to the one 303tom has shown and would be similar to anything you bought.

Good luck, and when you do shot it make sure you have a little padding on your shoulder. Those rifles don't kick bad, but there is no give in those metal butt plates.
TLuker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:38 AM   #12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks 303tom

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLuker

As for loading from the top as is with a scope mounted on the rifle, that shouldn't be a problem. I just loaded one in mine to see and I had no issues. My mount is similar to the one 303tom has shown and would be similar to anything you bought.

Good luck, and when you do shot it make sure you have a little padding on your shoulder. Those rifles don't kick bad, but there is no give in those metal butt plates.
Thank you for checking that for me.
I have actually shot a British .303 before, you're right.. Recoil isn't bad, I don't remember it causing me any trouble. I was young when I shot it, maybe 10 or so.

Is there any way I can confirm that my rifle is a no. 1 mk3? I'd like to know for sure before ordering a mount
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:04 AM   #13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I looked at it a little closer and it is stamped 1940 and III. What number does 1940 make it?
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:44 AM   #14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
marc29th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 667
Liked 91 Times on 67 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssbs View Post
I looked at it a little closer and it is stamped 1940 and III. What number does 1940 make it?
1940 is the year it was manufactured and III is for it being a No. 1 Mk III.
marc29th is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:16 PM   #15
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TLuker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S.C.
Posts: 3,912
Liked 2338 Times on 1476 Posts
Likes Given: 5768

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssbs View Post
I looked at it a little closer and it is stamped 1940 and III. What number does 1940 make it?
It should have "No1 Mk III*" stamped on it but it would easy for the other parts to have worn away.
TLuker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:07 AM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

So, someone pointed out to me that my rifle has previously been drilled and tapped for a scope. I have been looking at ordering a weaver or ATI mount (no drilling required) but I am curious if anyone has any ideas on what kind of mounts may have been used previously. I couldn't get a very good picture of it. I can get a better one in the sunlight tomorrow if I need to.
image-3064431793.jpg  
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 03:59 PM   #17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I wound up ordering a no. 1 mk3 ultimate arms scope mount for $35. I tightened everything up nicely and shot 2 rounds before the whole mount popped off. I emailed the place that I ordered from and they told me it must've been defective and to send it back. By the time all of this transpired and I got a new mount in the mail I only had a week of deer season left. When installing the mount this time I had even put thread lock on the set screws.. Fired the first round and it popped off again. Tried firing a round with iron sights and shot centered about 3 or 4 inches to the right.. Now I'm trying to figure out what to do, find another scope mount that might not work or try hunting this fall with iron sights.

Opinions?


Sent from my iPod touch using Firearms Talk
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 04:08 PM   #18
JTJ
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu,Arizona
Posts: 8,386
Liked 3852 Times on 2115 Posts
Likes Given: 1140

Default

Adjust your irons and use them.
__________________
Patron Member NRA
"I would not be an old man if I had not been an armed young man." JTJ
I was taught to respect my elders but they are getting harder to find.
JTJ is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 04:46 PM   #19
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
303tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,752
Liked 1881 Times on 1252 Posts
Likes Given: 2030

Default

You can always go this way !...............

http://www.galatiinternational.com/product/SKMK70.html
__________________
When all else fails.
303tom is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 01:24 AM   #20
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TLuker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S.C.
Posts: 3,912
Liked 2338 Times on 1476 Posts
Likes Given: 5768

Default

Any mount you get is essentially just a base and all a base needs is good screws and threads in the receiver on the rifle. Without having seen your mounts I'm guessing the problem is the threads on your receiver? I would carry your mount to a gun smith and get him to tap you receiver with the next size up threads and then drill the base so they clear. You shouldn't ever have a problem out of it again and it shouldn't be very expensive to have done?

Good luck!
TLuker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
British .303 synical Curio & Relic Discussion 13 07-18-2012 01:43 AM
303 British Help? Ronaldo General Rifle Discussion 8 06-04-2011 05:07 AM
Help with s&w british 38 REGALPIMP1978 Revolver Handguns 4 01-05-2011 01:11 AM
need help with stamps, .303 british saint217 General Rifle Discussion 10 05-08-2009 05:50 PM