Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > British .303 scope?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 01:42 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default British .303 scope?

I just got my first rifle today. It is a British .303 which I will be using to hunt whitetail. I'm not exactly sure what style gun I have but I know some .303s require special mounting hardware for scopes. I'm trying not to spend much as my budget is very tight. The gun was only $130. Any suggestions for mounting a scope?

image-2705237921.jpg   image-503894744.jpg   image-430341760.jpg  
__________________
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 10-02-2013, 01:55 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
marc29th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 667
Liked 91 Times on 67 Posts

Default

Here is how I have a scope mounted on one of my No. 4 Mk 1's


forumrunner_20131001_215427.jpg



forumrunner_20131001_215448.jpg



forumrunner_20131001_215507.jpg

The rail mounts where the rear sight goes.

__________________
marc29th is offline  
Anna_Purna Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:32 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc29th
Here is how I have a scope mounted on one of my No. 4 Mk 1's

The rail mounts where the rear sight goes.
My gun has a fixed magazine, if I were to mount a scope like that would I still be able to load the gun? Since it is too fed? From the angles of your pictures I cannot really tell.

Thanks
__________________
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:52 AM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
marc29th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 667
Liked 91 Times on 67 Posts

Default

You would be able to load them one at a time and not from stripper clips, with this one I usually take out the mag yo load it quicker.

__________________
marc29th is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:13 AM   #5
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
303tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3,469
Liked 1144 Times on 785 Posts
Likes Given: 1152

Default

Never seen a No1 with a fixed magazine, in fact I have never seen any SMLE with a fixed mag.............That being said their are scope mounts on the market for the No1 for about 40 bucks.........
http://www.atigunstocks.com/enfield-accessories-and-parts/154-enfield-scope-mount-no-1-mk-3.html

__________________

When all else fails.

303tom is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 11:01 AM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

The magazine

image.jpg  
__________________
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 12:37 PM   #7
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TLuker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S.C.
Posts: 2,546
Liked 1166 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 2203

Default

Your .303 appears to be a No1 Mk III* and the scope will mount similar to marc29th's No4 Mk1. I'll post a picture later this afternoon of the mounts on a No1. And if yours is a No1 then that is not a fixed magazine, but the magazine release appears to be missing. That should be easy to fix and inexpensive.

__________________
TLuker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:34 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks. I don't know a whole lot about guns but it does appear to be a fixed magazine. I don't have any ammunition yet but it looks like it can hold about 3 rounds... Loaded from the top

__________________
ssbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:38 PM   #9
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
303tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3,469
Liked 1144 Times on 785 Posts
Likes Given: 1152

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssbs View Post
The magazine
So how many rounds does it hold 3 or 4, here is a pic. of my 2A with scope mount, this one is from S&K and cost about a 100 bucks I think. Here is their site........http://www.scopemounts.com/index.html?instaprice.html
Here is a video on the one from ATI that is 40 bucks.
http://www.midwestgunworks.com/page/mgwi/prod/ati/ENF0113
enfield-2a.jpg  
__________________

When all else fails.


Last edited by 303tom; 10-02-2013 at 02:42 PM. Reason: Forgot picture..........
303tom is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:40 PM   #10
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
303tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3,469
Liked 1144 Times on 785 Posts
Likes Given: 1152

Default

I guess that answers my question on how many it holds................

__________________

When all else fails.

303tom is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
British .303 synical Curio & Relic Discussion 13 07-18-2012 12:43 AM
303 British Help? Ronaldo General Rifle Discussion 8 06-04-2011 04:07 AM
Help with s&w british 38 REGALPIMP1978 Revolver Handguns 4 01-05-2011 12:11 AM
need help with stamps, .303 british saint217 General Rifle Discussion 10 05-08-2009 04:50 PM