Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Breaking in the rifle barrel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2010, 04:21 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Breaking in the rifle barrel

I'm new to gun ownership so I never gave this much thought, but today while clicking through youtube videos I saw this

I've never gone through this with my .30-06 (which has to date, only had about 100 rounds put through it), and I'm picking up a 10/22 on Thursday, so should I go through this process with them? or is this breaking in period something that happens over time with just normal shooting?

on related note, could I use a "bore snake" instead of going through this whole process of pulling out the bolt, scrubbing with solvent, and then running a patch through it? Any thoughts on the bore snake besides? all the reviews seem pretty positive.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-01-2010, 06:13 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews