Ar-15 question - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Ar-15 question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 11:50 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 293 Times on 221 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ar15noob
Hello...as you can tell from my user I am a noob when it comes to the ar-15 platform. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. What is best " clean" ammo as I hear it is a dirty platform? Is 223 rem better than 5.56 NATO? Sorry if this is mundane but look to you guys for some guidance. Thanks.
I'm in the same boat. I bought my first ar15 a week ago and I have not got to shoot it yet bc I haven't ben home and it's about to drive me crazy.

Old 03-22-2012, 11:50 PM   #22

Liked 69 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSDenson07 View Post
Dirty as all get out, steel cased, inconsistent power loads..in my opinion not worth it. Unless the gun is a mil-surp weapon ie mosin,sks, ak, etc. I would never run steel through it. The risk far outweighs the reward. I have seen receivers on guns gored due to a stoppage with steel ammo, including one of my own. when I was young, dumb and broke I bought what was cheapest a simple failure to eject left a deep gouge in my handgun (9mm 115gr tula if memory serves). Take it from me shoot brass doubt risk it.
You keep shooting your brass & leave it lay on the range.
I'll pick it up & trade it in for my cheap steel, Ooh thanks for buying my ammo for me!LOL
Here is what I shoot accurate, cheap, consistent Silver Bear.
http://shop.militaryshooters.com/catalog/product.asp?ret_id=140211&pid=1030072

Old 03-23-2012, 12:12 AM   #23

First I have a brass catcher and reload..so sorry not getting my brass. Second the ar is a great platform I run several however the handgun story was a personal experience, simply why I choose not to run steel. Ill post what I feel the risk are later. Im trying to drive...

Old 03-23-2012, 03:46 PM   #24