Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   Ar-15 question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/ar-15-question-58694/)

ar15noob 02-24-2012 08:28 PM

Ar-15 question

Hello...as you can tell from my user I am a noob when it comes to the ar-15 platform. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. What is best " clean" ammo as I hear it is a dirty platform? Is 223 rem better than 5.56 NATO? Sorry if this is mundane but look to you guys for some guidance. Thanks.

JonM 02-24-2012 08:42 PM

its no dirtier than any other centerfire. just depends on what parts you prefer spending more time cleaning. some people think that because the ar15 gas tube ejects gas into the receiver area its bad or worse than other designs. its not its just different. instead of having to grind the crud off a gas piston and oprod you get to clean the bolt and receiver area. still gotta clean the same amount of crud just different areas.

556 and 223 differences can be confusing. do not fire 556 out of a barrel marked 223. you can fire 223 out of a 556. reason being is some but not all 556 can have thicker case walls increasing the pressure curve to dangerous levels in a 223 chamber.

ar15noob 02-24-2012 10:39 PM

Thanks jonm. Much appreciated. Any particular "brand" of 223 or 556 you think is best. My locals suck and are not nice to noobs like me. Sad but true and I find myself having to go to forums for ANY help.

purehavoc 02-24-2012 11:03 PM

For brands get a box of 3-4 different brands and see what runs thru it and what doesn't , if ur paying much more than $6.99 a box of 20 its to much . Also be sure to try steel case ammo and see if it will run . U shouldn't be paying much more than .$5.50 for a box of 20 on it either , I buy it ay Walmart if I'm in there for less than $5 a box

mjkeat 02-24-2012 11:18 PM