Am I the Only One? - Page 4
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Am I the Only One?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 03:04 AM   #31
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 21348 Times on 12115 Posts
Likes Given: 53218

Quote:
Originally Posted by cottontop View Post
I agree with you 100%. With all of these facts known to be true, it just proves how marketing and gun writers can sway the public opinion on a specific cartridge. And actually sound the death nell for the "better" cartridge.
cottontop
i agree with both of you. marketing and gun writers sold more calibers than anything else. the 243 is a good cartridge but from a reloaders standpoint, the 244 is even better. bright side is as long as there are dies and cases and rifles, we will always be able to enjoy these fine and obscure calibers!
cottontop Likes This 
Old 08-13-2012, 09:06 AM   #32

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Hi guys. Im rather new to this whole forum experience. I am new to the whole hunting experience and i have started with a British .303 that has been sporterized by Parker Hale. For me this is as good a calibre as any other in its range. With hand loads and a dead rest i get 1-1.5 inch groups at 100m. It has a very managable recoil of only 14 pounds when using 150 grains. Ammo is readily available here in RSA. Although alot of people frown upon it (as the have probably only seen one fired that was in a poor conditlon) it will drop any buck with correct shot placement. We are only allowed 4 calibres as per our licence. My rifle is set up to hit 2inches high at 100m and dead on at 200m and 3inches low at 250m. Any further than that, then Im sure i can get closer. ; )

Old 08-13-2012, 12:48 PM   #33

Liked 97 Times on 68 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by cottontop
Who likes the more obscure cartridge calibers?