Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > alright all you snipers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 07:56 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 185 Times on 147 Posts
Likes Given: 103

Now im no expert but im pretty sure quarter size groups are pretty unrealistic for someone who has only shot at 100 yards. Start at closer distances and work your way up.

Marlin Model 60
Mossberg Maverick 88-12 GA
Mosin Nagant 91/30
Stag Model 2
Smith And Wesson M&P 15-22
Mossberg ATR 100 "Night Train"-.308
Chinese T53 Mosin Nagant X2

People Like This 
Old 06-21-2013, 08:22 PM   #22

Liked 672 Times on 462 Posts
Likes Given: 675

Quote:
Originally Posted by longunner View Post
Now im no expert but im pretty sure quarter size groups are pretty unrealistic for someone who has only shot at 100 yards. Start at closer distances and work your way up.
1000 yard bench rest is 10 rounds. Good advice. Now if he wants to use a "sniper" rig at that distance 18" would be practical for a skilled shooter, but since his experience is 100 yards, better put a barn out there. Not a big one, but a small 35' wide, 42' tall one. Even w/ a Berger 210gr VLD and a MV of 2800fps the bullet drops 283" or 108 clicks on a 1/4" scope w/ the .300WM. Since most, but not all, scopes for distance have 80 clicks of travel, he better get a 20moa base. With a slight 5mph breeze he will be off 3 ft in windage. The OP should inlist in the Army or Marine Corps and sign up for Sniper school.

Freedom is not free. The best of us always leave too soon.

People Like This 
Old 06-21-2013, 08:42 PM   #23
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2579 Times on 1355 Posts
Likes Given: 197

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultimate_sig View Post
If a guy can get dime size groupings why couldn't I get quarter size groupings