About to buy my first rifle, need input
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > About to buy my first rifle, need input

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 02:44 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default About to buy my first rifle, need input

I'm pretty new to gun ownership, about 2 months ago I got a subcompact Glock for carry. I have plans to get another handgun, and a shotgun for home defense. However with the election on the horizon and the very real possibility that a large amount of rifles will be banned, im looking at getting an assault rifle(i know there is dispute on the term but i don't know what else to call it)

My main purpose for it is defense. A shotgun and handguns will protect me and my home just fine. But if the crap hits the fan and the US government fails, or we get invaded, or there is a huge national disaster. I want to know that I can go out to my cabin and have a reasonable chance of protecting myself. I am thinking that an AR-15 would probably be my best bet, but I'm not sure which one to get. My main concerns are durability, reliability and longevity.

Another question I have, is if the Dems do pass a new ban will that mean that I wont be able to get an assault rifle, or just that the prices will go up?

I live in Nevada by the way.

Last edited by Knat; 10-15-2008 at 02:57 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-15-2008, 03:45 AM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

check out the one i built in my signature for ~$700USD
sure you could always buy one for $1000-$1500
but building it is cheaper and more fun