30.06 purchasing advice
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > 30.06 purchasing advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2010, 07:57 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default 30.06 purchasing advice

So... noob here. I was always a bow hunter, hunting Colorado elk only. Grew up hunting Pa. whitetail w/ a 30/30. I have injured my shoulder and cannot bowhunt for a long while if ever. A friend lent me his Browning Mark IV 30.06 for this season and I want to buy a rifle this coming summer. I am POOR and do not have the money for something like the Mark IV and really only hunt one week each season and maybe shoot one box of ammo between practice, sighting in and hunting combined so I do not even need that weapon. I see some deals at Sports Authority and Bass Pro Shops from time to time. Question: buy used at a gun show or buy a lesser gun new. If a lesser gun new....what is the best of the cheap guns? I know most will say to save up and get something better. No can do financially. It would mean giving up hunting altogether and that is also a no go. I need one good straight bullet out to about 100 yards max each season. Please help me me a smart cheapo!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-22-2010, 08:28 PM   #2

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3