243 vs 270 - Page 2

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > 243 vs 270

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 03:18 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I have a rem 700 in .270 and I am very happy with the gun I have never had a problem with it and it is a nice flat shooting gun I have shot paper at 300 yds and got realy good groups and I am very new to the mid to long range shooting so in my opinion you can't go wrong with the remington....just my 2 cents

Old 04-20-2010, 06:31 AM   #12

Liked 22 Times on 15 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacemonkey View Post
no way would i hunt anything but paper @ those ranges. i am not in the "i took a elk @ 400yd last week" crowd. i know it is possible, i just have ethics. i forgot to mention that i was on a budget. also would you recommend Remington or savage?
Since it is your intent to shoot paper at longer ranges, it makes sense to get what will work best for the purpose; within your budget. Before I get to what that would be, I'd like to mention a couple of points. First, ballistic tables are of less importance than one might think. Balistic co-efficients and velocities are part of the picture but only a small part. Second, any rifle/cartridge combination works best when the shooter has spent some time at the range with it. Consequently, a cartridge which is economical and pleasant to shoot is a real plus.
The 270, while a great hunting round, is not now and never has been a great target round. Barrel life is poor, it burns too much powder, and match bullets are rare.
The 243 has some followers and works reasonably well when the rifle is set up to use thew long, VLD-type bullets. The only drawback to the 243 is the relatively short barrel life and the fact that some other cartridges are capable of better accuracy.