Your primary weapon versus multiple bad guys - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Your primary weapon versus multiple bad guys

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 06:50 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I carry .45 for a reason. When I bought my m&p .45, i bought it for a few reasons. One, I plan to be a police officer when I'm out of college, and this will be my duty weapon. the PD's here let you carry whatever you want as long as there is an armoror. Second, I like the caliber. I will admit I'm new to handguns, and would have been better off getting a smaller caliber to start. But I plan, and already am getting proficiant with my .45 to feel comfortable carrying it and being able to defend myself. When my CCW comes in I will carry .45 JHP. This is also what is set up next to me as I sleep. I carry .45 because I feel if I ever come into danger and that I actually need to use my firearm, the BG will go down a lot harder than I will. Thankfully where I live we are allowed to defend ourselves without getting a lot of flak for it. I hope I don't need to use my weapon, but I know if I do, I can use it proficiently, and feel comfortable using the .45 caliber. I'm getting a Beretta next week and wont carry it. I don't think 9mm will have the stopping power. I know I know, any caliber with a well placed bullet will stop a BG, but in a situation in which I may need to use my firearm, I doubt I will be clear enough to get the perfect shot, just close enough to do damage. I prefer .45. And I have shot a 9mm, and know that I prefer .45 for defense. It's too bad that people like this, that kill for fun, run around our streets. It's more motivation for me to be a LEO. These guys are loads that should have been swallowed.

Smith&Wesson M&P .45
Beretta 92fs

NRA member since November 16, 2009

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people."-V