Why carry without bullet in the chamber? - Page 15
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection >

Why carry without bullet in the chamber?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2013, 06:49 AM   #141
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1143 Times on 734 Posts
Likes Given: 246

My gun readiness has changed over the past few weeks, mostly because I am now a NRA Certified Instructor. One hard fast rule is, no live ammo in an NRA classroom.

That rule has changed the way I do business with my firearms. Much easier, much safier to drop a mag, and check for an empty chamber, than drop a mag and clear a round from a chamber. Same action, but one carries the greater potential for tragedies.

Another change in my mentality, is the discovery in my new Glock 20 owners manual, telling me to keep my chamber empty. Old Glock 20 did not say that.

Sure, that is just an attorney song and dance. True, but if I ever get involved in a shooting, I will be better off, following the rules that came with my gun. Far better off. Maybe hundreds of thousands of dollars better off.

For a quarter mil, I can live with an empty chamber.

Good news, empty chamber, trigger block safeties are no longer needed.

Last edited by AR10; 07-10-2013 at 06:52 AM.
therewolf Likes This 
Old 07-10-2013, 07:19 AM   #142
Lifetime Supporting Member
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 1675 Times on 942 Posts
Likes Given: 726

Quote:
Originally Posted by AR10 View Post
My gun readiness has changed over the past few weeks, mostly because I am now a NRA Certified Instructor. One hard fast rule is, no live ammo in an NRA classroom.

That rule has changed the way I do business with my firearms. Much easier, much safier to drop a mag, and check for an empty chamber, than drop a mag and clear a round from a chamber. Same action, but one carries the greater potential for tragedies.