What would you do? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > What would you do?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 11:16 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 180 Times on 128 Posts
Likes Given: 129

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeyondTheBox View Post
I thought about that too. Hmm... I'm still thinking it all over. I've read of others whom carry this Magsafe round in the identical gun, and the numbers all sound nice except for bullet weight. Seems at only 22gr it'd be better to go with a 22lr. I may load alternating. Very good suggestion.
I think you would be better off with a .22lr and some velocitors.

Old 02-05-2013, 11:21 PM   #12
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 100 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genec View Post
IMO, higher velocity doesn't transfer as better in a CCW situation. I'd be concerned about over pentration. I've been carrying for over 10 yrs and carry a Kel-tec p11 and will not attempt an across the room shot. For me, I'll use it at bad breath range and stick it right to the body and empty it.
I gotta say I agree. I'd never attempt a cross room shot with a .22 or .25 as they tend to wander a bit after exiting the barrel. That being said, I wouldn't fire a .380 across the room either. Those guns are really best for 10 feet or less, a shot you'd be hard pressed to miss. Rule #4---Know your target and what's behind it. A .22 round can be lethal at up to 300 yards. Of course, the report of a shot fired in someones general direction is usually enough to divert their attention to departure from the area from which it originated. I don't think they care if it's .22 or .25 and if there is a 100 ft per second differential in speed of travel.

A good plan executed today is better than a perfect plan executed at some indefinite point in the future.
- General George Patton Jr

Old 02-05-2013, 11:27 PM   #13

Liked 286 Times on 248 Posts

Quote: