Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > What is the ideal handgun to conceal while hiking?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 08:36 PM   #41
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWSchramm View Post

To each his own, of course. I'm no ballistics expert but I would think a rifle round shot out of a handgun would lose a lot of its potential.
Being a shorter barrell, it does lose some velocity but it still traveling at about twice the speed as any other pistol round. I know the rounds I carry chronograph at just over 2100 fps out of this short barrell. And the rounds do not typically go beyond 11-12inches so its dumping at that kinetic energy in its target.

Old 05-15-2013, 08:43 PM   #42
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1232 Times on 713 Posts
Likes Given: 1864

I've heard, maybe on this forum, that the best thing to take with you in bear country is to take a friend. When the bear starts moving toward you, shoot your friend in the knee, then run like hell to get out of there.

Old 05-16-2013, 03:00 PM   #43

Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AIKIJUTSU View Post
I've heard, maybe on this forum, that the best thing to take with you in bear country is to take a friend. When the bear starts moving toward you, shoot your friend in the knee, then run like hell to get out of there.
At least take an ex wife or ex girlfriend, what kind of friend are you? .......lol
Old 05-16-2013, 03:08 PM   #44

Liked 163 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Quote:
Originally Posted by AIKIJUTSU
Here's an idea, invite the mother in law for some bonding time.
Old 05-17-2013, 01:51 AM   #45

Liked 239 Times on 167 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Bears respond better to bear repellant than bullets . Some of you guys will get people so frightened that they'll carry a 12 guage sawed-off or tow an M-2 behind them .