Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > What is the ideal handgun to conceal while hiking?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 02:03 PM   #31
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3720 Times on 2281 Posts
Likes Given: 1224

Quote:
Originally Posted by GunRunner View Post

Is that what there adds say.........lol

Ive become a fan of rifle rounds in pistol platforms so ive become quite found of the FN 5.7. 20-30 low recoil easily well placed shots and light as can be.
To each his own, of course. I'm no ballistics expert but I would think a rifle round shot out of a handgun would lose a lot of its potential.

Always have clean socks.

Old 05-15-2013, 02:59 PM   #32
Concealed Carry Instructor
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 870 Times on 578 Posts
Likes Given: 220

Threat assessment in the woods. Vital.

What animal has been known to attack man, on hiking trails all across America for hundreds of years? Tens of thousands of reports.

Answer is man attacking man.

Bears, big cats, sasquash or ET attacks are quite rare.

Arm yourself for the most likely attack, and the least likely attack that could happen, man or bear, in that order.

Man threats are best handled conceal carry. Open carry will invite a greater likelihood of ambush, rather than armed frontal assault.

From an advantage of concealed carry, you must surprise your attacker, that you will fight back, rather than cower.

Most likely, the person attacking you would want to kill you, and rape your GF.

The best handgun for one or multiple attackers, and still be effective on bears, is a Glock 20. One factory mag gives you fifteen rounds. One factory mag with an Arredondo base plate is 20 rounds.

The woods are dangerous. 50,000 people disappear in the USA every year, and some of those folks like to hike in the woods, never to be seen again.