Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Turned in my paperwork (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/turned-my-paperwork-39572/)

rjgnwdc 03-10-2011 01:35 PM

Turned in my paperwork
 
I live in Virginia and here a person can get their CHP on-line for about $40 to take the course and then $50 to the state for the actual permit, so yesterday I took the course it consist of watching a 65 minute streaming video and then a 20 question test based on what you just watched on the video. You do have to score at least 75% which means you have to answer 15 of the 20 question correctly, I scored 100%. After you complete the test successfully you are prompted to print out the certificate, then you fill out an application for a "Concealed Handgun Permit" which is on the Virginia state police website (a link is provided) on the test site. You then take the certificate, application and a stamped self - addressed envelope to the Circuit Court in your county and file it with a clerk, that's when you pay the 50 bucks and by state law they are required to either send your permit within 45 days or deny it if you don't receive something from them in the 45 days you can either write them or go to their office and get a temporary 90 day permit until you receive the official 5 year permit unless your application has been denied for some reason. I donít know if Iíll conceal carry all that much but when I want to Iíll have my permit. Also in Virginia there is a law that says you can only buy 1 firearm a month (31 days) with the CHP you can buy guns every day if you want to so thatís pretty cool. I have a maximum 44 days till I get my permit.:cool:

winds-of-change 03-10-2011 02:09 PM

Good luck!

Neophyte1 03-11-2011 12:12 PM

Follow up
 
rjgnwdc: Sir; congratulations.

Follow up with the ''when'' you recieve your permit. Thanks

c3shooter 03-11-2011 12:26 PM

Congrats! BTW, I also live in VA- in a rural county, where if you can show a DD 214 attesting to military service, you just met the training requirements. it took the folks in this little bitty country place 3 days to issue mine.

GOD I love being in the sticks!:D

oldcoptn46 03-11-2011 02:13 PM

Congrats as well, pretty slick process. We had similar legislation introduced in Tennessee last year, military veteran having steamlined process, but it died in committee. Don't know what happened, I got mine the long way, took 90 days and about $150 total. Pops

rjgnwdc 03-11-2011 03:41 PM

I think most of us would too..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by c3shooter (Post 462365)
Congrats! BTW, I also live in VA- in a rural county, where if you can show a DD 214 attesting to military service, you just met the training requirements. it took the folks in this little bitty country place 3 days to issue mine.

GOD I love being in the sticks!:D

Yeah I would love to be in the sticks, and will be once I can finally retire from this dang rat race I'm in.

Jpyle 03-26-2011 05:55 PM

watch an online video? $40 for certification and $50 for a permit...all online? I hate you all :mad:

J/K I am from New Jersey...:)

rjgnwdc 03-28-2011 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adyta (Post 473191)
Congrats man. Might be just me, but it seems that process was a nightmare haha

I live in New Hampshire. Took a day and a half to get my permit once I filed the paperwork (1 paper), and only cost $10.

I know it is kinda crazy that a traditionally Red state puts us through so much and a traditionally Blue state such as yours makes it so simple and it seems like Vermont is even Bluer and it's even easier to get one.:confused:

Glock4Epton 03-28-2011 08:32 PM

I just submitted my application and certificates to SLED (South Carolina Law Enforcement Division) about 10 days ago. Here they require a person to take an 8 hour course (or two 4 hour courses in my case) and qualify on the range as well. Course is very simple, a few videos, lots of talking about whats right and whats wrong and some basic handgun instruction. Course was 90$ and it cost another 50$ paid to SLED to get the permit. Of course, that is if they run your record and allow you to have it. They have a maximum of 90 days to either tell you no or issue you the permit. Instructor said if you don't hear anything in the first two weeks then your usually good to go. INTERESTING NOTE: He also said that if you have been victim to a sexual assault, domestic violence, stalking etc... and send in a copy of the police report with your application that they will usually have your permit in your hands in less than 10 days! Just thought it was interesting. Congrats!!

rjgnwdc 03-29-2011 01:56 AM

Glock4Epton congratulations and good luck with getting your permit, it's kinda weird that Virginia has Reciprocity Agreements with South Carolina that allows me to conceal carry in your state with the minimal training required here compared to the training that's required for you as a South Carolina resident:confused:


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:35 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.