Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Ruger sr9c (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/ruger-sr9c-71510/)

redneckdaddy 08-31-2012 10:41 AM

Ruger sr9c

Anyone have one or have shot one before? Lookin to get one to carry.

genesis 08-31-2012 01:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redneckdaddy (Post 922531)
Anyone have one or have shot one before? Lookin to get one to carry.

Hi Redneckdaddy. I've been a revolver guy most of my life. But I just had to try one of these new (to me) polymer, striker fired autos. I've been doing my homework for 3 months, and finally picked up a brand new Ruger SR40C just last week for $419. It's the same as the SR9C. They're mighty sweet guns. I reload and cast my own bullets, so ammo cost isn't a factor for me. I have a shooting range on my property and shoot my 44 mag and 357 mag pretty regularly so recoil with the 40 wasn't a problem, less than a 38 special.

First thing I did was remove the magazine disconnect. That took just 5 minutes. Now I can dry fire without having a mag in the gun, and not damage anything. It was dead on right out of the box. Quick double taps on a pie plate at 21 feet were no problem. And while it's not a target pistol, it shot nice little groups at 50 feet in slow fire. The fully adjustable sights are a nice feature not found on to many other small guns. In the videos I've included below, notice the long range accuracy of these guns out to 80 yards. It's not really the gun. It's the shooter. I practice a lot with all of my handguns at 50 and 75 yards.