Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Protection for self defense liabilities (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/protection-self-defense-liabilities-45261/)

Al1195 07-15-2011 11:14 PM

Protection for self defense liabilities

The United States Concealed Carry Association (USCCA) is offering a self defense shield benefit to its membership that will cover legal expenses should you have to defend yourself in court for a self defense shooting etc.
I'm new to CCW and would like to hear comments from more experianced members of this forum about this type of benefit. Is it a good or bad idea?

Thanks in Advanced

therewolf 07-16-2011 01:01 AM

Have you ever had to mortally defend yourself with a knife, tire iron, or a

baseball bat? Me neither. So, even though I carry, I doubt I'll ever have to

mortally defend myself with a gun.

IF your state has Castle Doctrine, you are already

protected by the law, as far as that goes, given you

know the law, and seek only to protect your life.

If not, you may want to consider some method of

protecting yourself legally, in the unlikely event the worst

happens.

JonM 07-16-2011 01:17 AM

unfortunately being legally in the right doesnt stop the rest of the goblins to whom the deceased goblin is related to from suing. even them having zero chance of winning costs you massive money and time.... :(

freefall 07-16-2011 01:50 AM

Some outfit in the Pacific Northwest was talking about that too. Can't remember who right now... I think it's a worthwhile idea. A criminal defense can easily exceed $100,000 and the sky's the limit. "Better tried by twelve than carried by six" might ring a little hollow while you're being gang raped in a prison shower because you couldn't afford competent council.

c3shooter 07-16-2011 02:53 AM