Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Open & Concealed Carry (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/open-concealed-carry-46288/)

Vincine 08-05-2011 10:51 AM

Open & Concealed Carry

If one has an CCP, and is in an state with Open Carry, would one get in trouble if their CCW is seen?
:confused:

winds-of-change 08-05-2011 11:14 AM

I am by no means an expert but I believe open carry must be carried in the open. Conceal carry must be concealed. I think you can get in trouble if your conceal carry is visible under clothing or printing. You can not go back and forth with the type of carry as a gun is exposed or hidden under clothing due to movement. That is my understanding. Someone much more knowledgeable will be along soon.

NOVA 08-05-2011 11:23 AM

Excellent question - I too am no expert and will try to keep an eye on this thread to see what folks have to say. Only thing I can add is I am fairly certain that in some cases if you are carrying concealed and then purposefully expose the gun it can be considered brandishing. But maybe you have to actually remove the gun from the holster or pocket, have it in hand to be considered brandishing? And these types of questions will surely result in some answers saying it depends what state you are in. I'll welcome the day we have a legal to carry law thats the same for all states!

FatPat 08-05-2011 12:08 PM

It all depends on the State. Honestly, much depends on the particular burg or town - even the particular LEO you happen to run into.

Take my State, Georgia, for example: We have reciprocity with Texas. It is my understanding that in Texas, even accidentally exposing your concealed-only sidearm, or printing, is a no-no.
In Georgia, you have (or should have) no such worries as you can legally carry your firearm open or concealed.