Open Carry vs Conceal Carry - Page 12
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Open Carry vs Conceal Carry

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 07:52 PM   #111
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4715 Times on 2281 Posts
Likes Given: 1440

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimRau View Post
As a STRONG supporter of the RTKABA'S (2nd amendment) I support the open carry 'right'. As a person with 40+ years experience in military and police service I advise against open carry in public for tactical and safety reasons.
I don't "completely" disagree with you Jim... BUT... Tactical and Safety reasons for OC are "sort of" like real-estate... Location, Location, Location.

All of us who posses either Military, LEO, or experience in both seem to "default" to this concern and I'm as guilty of it as anyone, but I do have to stop and question why?

As an Infantry Soldier my weapons were certainly "out there" for all to see... Every LEO begins "in uniform"... again... with there weapon "out there" for all too see.

And I've still not seen examples of OC citizens being attacked in any numbers that are statistically significant enough to warrant such concern on our part?

Tack

Old 06-12-2013, 08:16 PM   #112
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1866 Times on 1093 Posts
Likes Given: 885

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tackleberry1 View Post
I don't "completely" disagree with you Jim... BUT... Tactical and Safety reasons for OC are "sort of" like real-estate... Location, Location, Location.

All of us who posses either Military, LEO, or experience in both seem to "default" to this concern and I'm as guilty of it as anyone, but I do have to stop and question why?

As an Infantry Soldier my weapons were certainly "out there" for all to see... Every LEO begins "in uniform"... again... with there weapon "out there" for all too see.