Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Non resident conceal carry question. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/non-resident-conceal-carry-question-74322/)

winds-of-change 10-14-2012 08:22 PM

Non resident conceal carry question.

I was wondering if I could conceal carry in a state that allows concealed carry even though I am not a resident of that state. Say I go to Arizona. Can I legally conceal carry while visiting there even though I am a resident of Illinois?

nitestalker 10-14-2012 08:29 PM

If you have a CCW from a state that is approved by the state of Arizona. If you live in states such as California, Ill etc that does not issure CCWs apply for a Utah permit. Utah will issue you a permit. The Utah CCW is good in Arizona. If you are an adult ARIZONA RESIDENT you do not need a CCW.:)

phildenton 10-14-2012 08:35 PM

Some places open carry is a viable option as well. Like if you were to visit wa. Just know that even open carry legalities vary. In florida you can have a loaded handgun in YOUR car without a permit the same as in your home. BUT in wa you need a permit to have a loaded handgun in your car no matter whether its open or concealed. Life is simplified getting the permit valid to the jurisdiction.

nitestalker 10-14-2012 08:47 PM

Very true get a CCW. Study the laws before you travel. Arizona law says weapons must be in holster in a car. This means just that a holster. During open carry 2" of the holster must be exposed. Check the laws.:)

Chainfire 10-14-2012 08:54 PM